How to Set up Email Notifications and reminders? 🔔
Email notifications can be sent to your customers and employees to notify them about the bookings that occurred in Trafft. It can be sent right after some action, in the scheduled time before or after the appointment, or at the scheduled specified time of the day.
Email notifications settings are divided into two parts: Templates and Configure.
Templates are divided into two parts:
- To Customer - these templates you set to be sent to the customers,
- To Employee - these templates you set to be sent to the employees.
By default, all templates are enabled but once you click on each of them you will see a toggle button next to the template name (above the Subject) to disable the template if you don't want this email to be sent.
Six notification types are available in Trafft, both for customers and employees:
- Appointment Approved
- Appointment Pending
- Appointment Rejected
- Appointment Canceled
- Appointment Rescheduled and
- Appointment Reminder
We will go through each of these notification types in detail below.
This email message will be sent right after your customer finishes the booking process, or right after an appointment is created from the admin dashboard. In order to be sent right away your Default Appointment Status from General Settings needs to be set to Approved. If you set Pending as a Default Appointment Status in the General Settings then this notification will be sent after you manually change appointment status on the Appointments page from Pending to Approved. This notification is available for both customers and employees, but you can disable one or both of them with a toggle button above the Subject of the template.
This email message will be sent right after your customer finishes the booking process, or right after an appointment is created from the admin dashboard. In order to send right away, your Default Appointment Status from General Settings needs to be set to Pending. If you set Approved as a Default Appointment Status in the General Settings then this notification will be sent after you manually change appointment status on the Appointments page to Pending. This notification is available for both, customer and employee, but you can disable one both of them with a toggle button above the Subject of the template.
This email message will be sent right after the status of the appointment on the Appointments page is changed to Rejected. Both, your customers and your employees, can be notified that the appointment has been rejected, but if you don't need both of them, you can disable it with a toggle button above the template Subject line. This notification can also be sent to both parties, but can as well be disabled like the previous ones.
This email message will be sent right after the status of the appointment on the Appointments page is changed to Canceled. You are probably wondering why there are two similar notifications and statuses? The reason for this is because very soon we will add an option to the customer to cancel the appointment so there will be the difference - Canceled notification will be only for the customer's canceling and Rejected one will be for rejecting by admin, employee or anybody else who gets this permission (also will be added in the future). This notification can also be sent to both parties, still, you can disable it like previous ones.
This email message will be sent right after the appointment date and/or time are/is changed. This currently can be done only from the admin dashboard on the Appointments page but very soon customers will have this option to reschedule their appointments, so you will probably need to set up this notification to at least inform your employees about this.
With this notification, you can remind your customers and employees about upcoming appointments, this can dramatically reduce no-shows for your appointments. On the right side of the Subject line, you will see the option "Before Appointment" where you can set a time before the appointment when this notification will be sent. By default, it is set to 1 day which means that reminder notification will be sent 1 day before the appointment. You can change this and choose between 30 minutes before the appointment to 1 week before the appointment.
Appointment Follow Up
This is one of the two notifications available only for the customers. With this notification, you can send a follow-up email to thank your customer for coming or give some additional information, invite them to the next treatment or ask for a positive review. Remember that this way you can drastically improve the number of returning customers. Next to the subject line, you will see an option "After Appointment" to choose a time and schedule this email. By default, the option is set to 30 minutes which means that a follow-up email will be sent 30 minutes after the appointment is finished, of course, you can change this and set the different time up to 1 week after the appointment.
This notification is also only available for the customers. Congratulate your customers on their birthday. To be able to send this email you will need to have a date of birth field in the customers' profile filled. Next to the Subject line, you will see an option "Scheduled For" which you can use to set a time of the day when the email will be triggered on a customer's birthday. By default, it is set to 17:00 (5 pm).
Setting your templates with placeholders
For each of these notifications explained above you will see options below the template message to choose and add email placeholders. Place your cursor in the template where you want to add a new placeholder, open any of the dropdowns below and click on the placeholder that you need.
The placeholder will be automatically added to the template, and you can add as many as you want. All these placeholders will be replaced with real data from bookings, services, employees, locations, company details, etc. If on the other hand there is no data for that placeholder then the placeholder will be replaced with empty space.
Once you finish setting up all email templates - don't forget to click "Save Settings".
In email settings you can set up two basic settings for sending your emails:
- "Sender Email" - here you can set an email from which all notifications will be sent
- "Sender Name" - here you can set the name that will be displayed in the sent notification as a sender name